Review: City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

I made the mistakes of reading the 1-star reviews before I wrote this one. Which sort of made me sick. Everyone is complaining that it’s “too juvenile” like this is middle-grade? I don’t know what you thought this was going to be, but the writing is juvenile because it’s for literal children?

A few people said this is a book for people who don’t like reading books, which I found genuinely insulting. As someone who writes books and reads hundreds of books a year, I absolutely loved this book.

I’m more into middle grade and YA, I like easy stories because my life is already so friggin complicated, I don’t want books I read to make me feel bad. This book was genuinely sweet and precious. And yeah, it was low key creepy.

I will agree that not much ghost-type stuff happened in the beginning, but people complaining about this is probably one of my biggest pet peeves. In first books, there is always a portion of the book that needs to be set aside for world building and character development. When people complain about a book being “slow” or “a nothing book” when in reality the writer is trying to set up the entire story I literally want to shake them.

Because if the author DIDN’T set up the story with world building and character development, everybody would’ve complained the story had no depth or development.

Anyways, rants aside.

This is my favorite book V.E Schwab has ever written. I love Cassidy. I love Jacob. I love Lara. Was I rubbed the wrong way in the beginning when Cassidy trashed the popular girls? Yeah. I don’t think that’s something that needs to be said in modern books.

And I know the V.E Schwab tends to do this a lot. With Cassidy being “not like other girls” and her best friend being a male ghost. But I feel like she sort of remedied that later in introducing Lara and cultivating a friendship between her and Cassidy.

I really, genuinely love Cassidy’s character and the spooky ghost stories told in the book. I loved the veil and how Lara literally is like “Don’t do the thing” and IMMEDIATELY after that Cassidy ends up doing the thing.

I like how the book resolution didn’t seem too easy even though it wasn’t all that hard. I hate when stuff takes to long to resolve. Honestly this book was so special to me. It was a sweet, spooky, nice read and I cannot wait to read the second one in the series.

Which is a HUGE deal for me because I am TRASH at reading second books. If I ever complete a series you best believe it was FANTASTIC (to me).

Overall rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
(5/5 Stars. )

Rating breakdown:

Prose: ?????
Plot: ?????
Characterization: ?????
Boredom meter: ?????

More about City of Ghosts

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of Stranger Things.

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn’t like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.

So things are already pretty strange. But they’re about to get much stranger.

When Cass’s parents start hosting a TV show about the world’s most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her “gift,” she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil — and herself.

And she’ll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined.

Get your copy here on Amazon.

Book Review: Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

This is my FAVORITE Creekwood book. Like, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda was great, but this one spoke directly to my soul.

Leah Burke is LITERALLY me. In high school I was the impoverished bi girl who had severe mental illness issues and preferred to BURN EVERYTHING TO THE GROUND rather than let anything slightly inconvenience me.

She, of course, has more supportive friends and family than I did, but her character resonated so much with me I literally cannot stop yelling about it.

All her fears, her wants, her needs…everything. She’s literally perfect. Or…well…fundamentally flawed, which is how I like my characters.

Her relationship with Abby literally had me SCREAMING for most of the book. They’re so cute and so precious. And I really wish they’d gotten together in book 1, but alas. It wouldn’t have been as sweet, in my opinion.

But seriously, Leah is my absolute favorite. And I feel like she really got shafted in the Love, Simon film because they made her openly like Simon. That does not fit her character at all, she only liked Simon when they were really young. Then she had a crush on his older sister.

I did spend a little bit of the book hoping she’d fall for Simon’s younger sister, but Leah/Abby is my OTP for life now.

This book is one of my absolute favorites!

Overall rating: ★★★★★★★★★★
(10/5 Stars. )

Rating breakdown:

Prose: ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Plot: ??????????????
Characterization: ???????????????
Boredom meter: ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ?????????????????????????

More About Leah on the Offbeat

Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best friend from the award-winning Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda—takes center stage in this novel of first love and senior-year angst.

When it comes to drumming, Leah Burke is usually on beat—but real life isn’t always so rhythmic. An anomaly in her friend group, she’s the only child of a young, single mom, and her life is decidedly less privileged. She loves to draw but is too self-conscious to show it. And even though her mom knows she’s bisexual, she hasn’t mustered the courage to tell her friends—not even her openly gay BFF, Simon.

So Leah really doesn’t know what to do when her rock-solid friend group starts to fracture in unexpected ways. With prom and college on the horizon, tensions are running high. It’s hard for Leah to strike the right note while the people she loves are fighting—especially when she realizes she might love one of them more than she ever intended.

Get your copy here on Amazon.